5.0 out of 5 stars A concise, thrilling read! June 9, 2014

By Stuart Keane

Format:Paperback

 

The beauty of the horror genre is variety. With so many sub-genres, you can always find something to read, something to take your fancy. Be it serial killers, ghosts, haunted houses, thrillers...you get the point. From a personal perspective, I love stories about 'small towns'. That's right, when a group of characters go to a town and discover all manners of evil lurking within. It's one sub-genre I think speaks to everyone in some way. All the masters of horror have done it. King did it was It, Laymon with Funland, Herbert with The Fog. For me, it's the type of tale I can read multiple times.

The Dead Game was a surprise to me. Initially, the cover didn't give much away. It's been mentioned in several reviews, but this book throws you straight into the story. True, it develops the characters a little before unleashing the town's horrors on them - something we know is inevitable - but for some reason, it doesn't feel rushed or forced. There's no loitering, The Dead Game wants our attention from the start and garners it with crisp dialogue and excellent character development. When the characters receive their invite to the game of the title...you can feel the hairs standing on end. Invited to an isolated house on the hill? Yep, we all love a story that does this.

A supernatural thriller needs characters to push it along. The Dead Game has that in abundance. The characters are intriguing, realistic and very normal considering the chills on display. We feel for them and when the town starts to unleash unknown terrors, you can't help but get swept away by the story and feel like you're living the horror with them.I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

 

          Top customer reviews

 

 5.0 out of 5 stars

Beware of Party Invitations in Black Envelopes!

By

Aldo Ray Fanon January 14, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

  

 

Having recently finished watching the T.V. series "The Strain" which involves a type of vampire-apocalypse, I started reading this novel, bracing myself for a similarly intense experience. Well, it was quite a bit different, but every bit as good. Aided tremendously by Ms Leist's cinematic writing, this tale starts out with a gripping scene of pure horror (straight out of "The Outer Limits" - one might say) which serves as a sort of prelude to the bizarre events that are to follow. While there are quite a few characters involved in the story as more and more of the town's residents become engulfed in the eerie events that ensue, one's interest is often focused on the evolving relationship between newcomer Linda and the dark and mysterious Todd whose motives may or may NOT be totally benign. Accepting a party invitation that comes to her in the mail in a black envelope, Linda takes her first step into the land of the supernatural. Whom can she trust completely when some of her friends end up (supposedly) disappearing into thin air, and when even the local minister seems to be leading a double-life that no one wants to talk about? Once the story gets underway, it's practically non-stop action, and the reader may very well learn more about vampires than any ordinary person would care to know!

 

 

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Book!

By Crusader on October 15, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

This book starts out pretty quick and it took me for a ride into the town of Oasis, Florida, where a woman arrives as a new resident and opens up a bookstore. There is a mystery in Oasis and something stalks the streets. Residents of the town have gone missing for years and no one seems to know what has happened to them. There is also some mystery surrounding a house called "End House", which the locals think is haunted.

Everything is fine and dandy in the daytime, but when the sun goes down, it is a whole different story. The woman and her friends go to a party at End House and that is when all hell breaks loose. Very atmospheric and gripping. The more I became involved with the story, the faster I started reading it to see where this book was going to take me. So what is stalking the streets of Oasis, you ask, well you will just have to read the book to find out. Four stars on this one.

 

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A Page Turner and Must Read

By Blue Lady on November 18, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

I must qualify--I've always been a big mystery and thriller fan but over the years, I been more inclined to read cozy mysteries. The Dead Game is anything but cozy...and but it is a page-turner. In spite of the short introduction to what appears to be a cute little 'small town with quaint shops and country stores', readers learn by the second paragraph to expect dead people, dark secrets and murder.

The book is a page-turner and from that second paragraph, I could not put it down. Well developed characters 
and creative unique plot components combined with unusual twists and turns make this an unforgettable novel--one you will read from start to finish.

I highly recommend this book and congratulate the author on a very well written book.

 

 

 

4.0 out of 5 stars The Dead Game Reminded Me of a Childhood Horror Story

By Angelksses in MD on February 17, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

The Dead Game Reminded Me of a Childhood Horror Story
I have to admit that I was surprised by this novel. First, I thought I had figured out the ghostly End House only to find out that vampires were involved. Then I thought I knew why Todd was so cool and aloof. Wrong. I won’t bother admitting to my other false thoughts. What I will say is that this book is an intricate story that has romance, vampires, human victims, human heroine want-to-be types, and best of all, houses that are actually haunted entities. I would give you a word of warning. Before starting this book, you must decide to keep track of the characters or you will get lost. You will enjoy that the characters are nicely developed and the plot lines will keep you on the edge of your seat. My only wish would be that I would have preferred that the vampires appeared earlier in the story because once they show up, the action was fast and furious. So. pay attention to the characters, sit back and enjoy.

 

 

 

5.0 out of 5 starsBarb in NC

By Barbara Safrit on September 1, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

I kept seeing this book posted on Facebook so I decided to read it. I'm really glad I did . It's a great thriller that keeps you guessing just who you can trust. I don't want to spoil it for you but I'm really looking forward to the next book. I think you'll enjoy it very much. I've added Susanne Leist to my favorite author list.

 

 

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Vampires, Horror, Suspense...OH MY!

By JenTheRiot on September 20, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

A town called Oasis in the state of Florida. Sounds like a beautiful, serene place to open a bookstore, right? That's just what Linda thought when she moved there. Well, things aren't always what they seem. By day, it's paradise, but by night...watch out because evil and horror lurk.
The town is riddled with secrets, vampires and there is a haunted house called the End House (you can only imagine what takes place there)
This story was engaging, but did scare the bejesus out of me, especially while reading at night, home alone :/
There are lots of characters in the story, so pay attention, so you don't get lost. Will the wicked group of vampires planning genocide on the half-breeds succeed? If you're looking for a vampire read, chock full of horror, suspense, and thrills, then grab it and hold on!

 

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Had me biting my nails while flipping pages.

By Raven H. Price on November 9, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

I loved how this author wrote. The book is packed with drama and mystery, not to mention vampires. This isn't your usual haunted house tale. It will keep you flipping pages until you are crying for more. Worth every 5-star.

 

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Flows swiftly so that the reader will be intrigued throughout.

By VMLM on August 14, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

There is a malevolent presence governing the persuaded; actually all in the municipality. Linda and her pals have no clue as to whether these are people, prowlers, or vampires. Who would have thought, in the city of Oasis, wickedness rendezvous in the boulevards; in its dark hours. After all, the daytime is quite the opposite … laden with brightness, attractive, cozy roads, and a pale prestige seashore. But there are eerie circumstances, such as vacationers vanishing from the elaborate Oasis Hotel. Then there’s the focal point in the city; a place called ‘End House’ which has a murky past of strange vanishings. By encountering chilling deceptions and turning rooms, Linda and friends find themselves in a realm of ruses. They need to flee for their lives but find themselves imprisoned within the house’s spooky walls. As the tale unravels, menacing beings arise and a clash sandwiches amid virtue and malevolent. This novel is fast moving and author, Susanne Leist’s writing flows swiftly so that the reader will be intrigued throughout. Great job! Looking forward to reading more of her work in the future!

 

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A Haunting Tale that Combines Vampires, Romance, and Terrifying Illusions

By Lilly on June 13, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

 

The story starts out with a young woman, Linda, a new resident in a beach-front town, who has recently set up a bookstore that also has a place to grab a quick bite to eat. She has formed friendships with other newcomers to the town along with some long-time residents. They have fun get-togethers and parties on the beach, but then things change when the newcomers are invited to a party at End House. Even though they had heard frightening stories about that house, they still want to attend the party. Todd, a long-time resident of the town accompanies Linda to the party to keep her safe. The game played at End House is more frightening with deadly consequences than any of them could have imaged.

The author has done an exceptional job in creating a mysterious, breach front town where most of the residents have dark, well-kept secrets. As the story unfolds, sinister creatures emerge along with a battle between good and evil. This is a nicely crafted, unique story that kept me turning to the pages as I tried to figure out all the town’s hidden secrets. An exciting read!

 

 

 

4.0 out of 5 starsMove over last House on the Left...End House is here...

By Dii TOP 500 REVIEWER on December 23, 2013

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

 

Doesn’t the name Oasis sound like an idyllic place to live? The perfect calm and relaxing place to settle down, Oasis has small town charm, small town neighbors, and even a mysterious and foreboding house about which horror stories are told, oh and bodies are being found, drained of blood. Who or what would drain the blood of its victims? What is the dark secret surrounding the town and its inhabitants? A newcomer to Oasis, Linda can’t help but get involved, especially after a harrowing experience at the End House. Is there a serial murderer going around acting out a vampire fantasy? Is it possible vampires are real? Are there good vamps and bad vamps? From the day Linda entered Oasis, her life was set on a path she could never have imagined, and her boyfriend just may be part of the nightmare she is now living.

The Dead Game by debut author Susanne Leist makes a bold statement by crossing the genre lines, serving up one scoop mystery, one scoop romance and topping it off with a dollop of dark paranormal fantasy. Have you ever been somewhere, listening to someone drone on, while carrying on your own mental conversation, full of snark and attitude? There is lots of that going, lightening those dark moments with a little quirky humor. The main character, Linda is inquisitive to the point of putting herself in danger, as well as her friends who are all on board for playing paranormal super sleuths. They form a rag-tag band of amateur P.I.s playing cat and mouse with some serious evil that has been hiding out in town, waiting to make their play for power and control.

The attention to detail is very strong, from the settings to the characters themselves, mental images are easy to conjure, as well as the actions each character is making. While it doesn’t slow the story down, (which by the way is twisting and convoluted right up to that last page), it does require paying attention, as does the dialogue, which at times seemed too calm and intelligent when I would have been a babbling fool!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Spookfest, October 24, 2014

By 

tassy - See all my reviews

 

This review is from: The Dead Game (Kindle Edition)

The Dead Game by Susanne Leist is a top-notch haunted house horror thriller. The author excels at spooky descriptions, terrifying scenarios like opening a door and stepping into a black abyss or forever trapped in a dark maze with endless rooms stretching into infinity. Her characters are perfect and the reader can easily connect with them.
Linda moves to the perfect seaside town to open up a book store. But soon strange things happen that peaks her interest in the old house on the hill. She and her friends receive an invitation to a party at the house. This screams DON'T GO - but her inquisitive nature wins over.
Here the author ramps up the action full of terrifying games that defy the imagination as the house wants to play. This reader had nightmares after this book and even so, needs to know what the house owner has to offer with further games of the dead.
This is a truly scary read for Halloween and is suitable for 13+ and adults.
FIVE STARS for this haunted house horror and highly recommended.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

5.0 out of 5 stars Read THE DEAD GAME by Susanne Leist -you deserve a book full of suspense, September 9, 2014

 

By 

R.R.Cratty - See all my reviews

 

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: The Dead Game (Kindle Edition)

 

Dead Game by Susanne Leist is a mysterious supernatural thriller with plenty of twists and turns that is well-written and keeps you turning the page. From the first page you start a wild ride and just when you think all is well, she throws in another twist.
The story begins as Linda moves to a small town to open a bookstore and makes new friends. She finds the town of Oasis is filled with picturesque streets, and sunny white-sand beaches. Life in Oasis is a paradise- until the dead body washes up on shore.
Linda learns that dead bodies and disappearing tourists are common for this town. As soon as the sun sets, the residents are stalked by dark shadows. Is it ghosts, werewolves, vampires or some crazy murderer playing some terrible games? Linda, her friends and shop owners decide to take it upon themselves to find out what is happening in their town and that's when the scary stuff starts to happen.
Invited to the “End House” for a party, Linda and her friends are pursued through revolving rooms, terrifying illusions and dangerous traps. Escaping with their lives comes with a price as two of their friends remain trapped in the house.
THE DEAD GAME has begun as they start their unnatural journey, will there be an end to this game? Or is this just the beginning? 

-R.R.Cratty

EDITORIAL REVIEWS 

 

The Dead Game by Susanne Leist is a mysterious supernatural thriller with plenty of twists and turns that is well-written and keeps you turning the page. From the first page you start a wild ride and just when you think all is well, she throws in another twist.  
Rhonda Cratty, Parenting & Education Examiner

I was absolutely surprised by this book! I knew it had some enigmatic mystery and some dark action, but the author set up the story so well I was happily amazed. It starts with a very engaging character, a young woman who is very well portrayed in a community, Oasis, Florida. The town's mysteries are maze-like and become deeper and more sinister as the book progresses. This is a very original approach to the concept of vampires and their existence.
Ray Miller "Relevant Reviewer"

 

The Dead Game by Susanne Leist is a top-notch haunted house horror thriller. The author excels at spooky descriptions, terrifying scenarios like opening a door and stepping into a black abyss or forever trapped in a dark maze with endless rooms stretching into infinity. Her characters are perfect and the reader can easily connect with them.Simon Okill, Simon's Phantom BlogA beachfront town, a haunted mansion, people disappearing or turning up dead--these are the elements of gothic horror, but this unique novel has a more than a few twists. The writing is first-rate, and the pace is fast. The characters are well-defined, and the plot is imaginative and unpredictable...Howard Lipman, pen name PanOrpheus, authorSusanne's take on vampires is fresh and new but you'll have to read to know. She takes the age old vampire legend and turns it into something I've never read before...

Elle Klass, Author of As Snow Falls

 

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now